My Mazamet

Life at № 42 by E.M. Coutinho

Camellia Season, Work and Many Versaries

First of all I’d like to know what the moratorium is in the post-Trump era before we can say offensive things again and not be confused with his supporters? I feel the absolute worst part of the Trump Years wasn’t children in cages or the bzzz-bzzz Khashoggi incident; rather, it’s that for years I (and others with my sort of sense of humour) had to be quiet because all the jokes we made for years were suddenly taken at face value. They weren’t jokes anymore. When laughing at the horrors of the world is one’s outlet, being deprived of it is not a good thing. So can we please, please go back to saying borderline evil things? Speaking of which, did any of you see Deb Haaland’s skirt as she was sworn in as Secretary of the Interior? I know Europeans did horrendous things to Native Americans – which is why I commend her on getting revenge through the less bloody (nonetheless violent) medium of fashion.

She's representing all of us': the story behind Deb Haaland's swearing-in  dress | Deb Haaland | The Guardian

Anyway before getting back to business – how many of you HATE the WP block editor as much as I do? The other day I had to turn on an old laptop which happened to have old yahoo mail files saved on it (from over a decade ago) and to be honest there was nothing in today’s design that’s actually substantively better than what they provided then. Meanwhile we had to adapt to ridiculous amounts of “improvements” that are much more to do with the egos of designers than things that make any difference to users. Change for the sake of change isn’t an improvement.

Now, in good news, Mike is out getting his Covid vaccine right now! I’m still not eligible, which is fine as I’m going to milk the social distancing thing for as long as it’s possible. So we’ve made it, I guess. In fact this is a time of many -versaries. Our 6th Mazaversary, our 20th year together, the 5th anniversary of our French business etc. etc. Also, we’re both older in March, but I gloss over that as I don’t want to be accused of ageing.

Work has been excellent. I’d like to take the opportunity to thank the people at the Customs Office in Toulouse who seem to have revised their policies after that little debacle. Our recent packages have moved exceptionally quickly. In fact quicker than ever before. Mike says it’s probably because they’d rather I traffic cocaine than have to deal with me again, which is possibly true.

Anyway, I’ve got glorious stock this year. Fortunately Mike is fantastically patient, as I make a gigantic mess a few times a year as things come and go. Currently the grey salon looks like – well, let’s say a bit Catholic.

And of course, the camellias are out and wonderful as ever:

Also, I had a blood test and a CT scan. Apparently I’m not dying, although the blood test turned into a very unpleasant affair. When they asked me if the intern could do it, I wanted to be nice and say yes. They couldn’t make it work on one arm, then moved to the other. Awful.

84 comments on “Camellia Season, Work and Many Versaries

  1. Kaian
    March 27, 2021

    I absolutely loathe the WP block editor.

    Liked by 5 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      An incomprehensible horror. A waste of effort, time and money. Sheer stupidity. I wish on the designers all the things people say they don’t wish on their worst enemies! All of them.

      Liked by 7 people

  2. Steve Ruis
    March 27, 2021

    I so look forward to the updates on your life in beautiful Mamazet. (What does that say about me?)

    As to the “WP Block Editor” I basically do not use it. To post something, I start with a “Classic” block which is basically the old editor in situ. I lay out a post exactly as I used to and voila, up it goes. There are minor differences (not being able to choose from old tags is irritating) but by and large it is the same as the old editor.

    Liked by 4 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      It says you have discerning taste 🙂
      I’m trying the classic block but it disappears while I write. Then I have to click on it every time I want to edit something. I’ve been wondering if copy/pasting from word might work. I’m trying that next.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. inspiredbythedivine1
    March 27, 2021

    To put it bluntly, I fucking HATE the WP block editor!!! What a fucking piece of shit!!! It’s literally as if WP is telling us, “Hey, assholes!! We LOVE making your lives miserable. We get off on it! Remember the fun you used to have writing on WP? Hahahaha!!! That’s over with assholes!!! Welcome to hell! Welcome to our new block editor!! Hahahahaha!!!” Truly, if evil ever could become personified, it’s the WP block editor. AAAAAARRRRGGGHHHH!!!! $Amen$ 😀

    Liked by 6 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      Absolute nightmare. What I really don’t get is why they insist on forcing people to use a bad product. In the end Coca-Cola had to bring back Classic Coke, and I’m hoping that happens here because the whole process is annoying.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Kris
    March 27, 2021

    Oh I have missed your well-directed rage!! 🤣 More more more please!! It keeps me laughing in these last glorious moments of social distancing. Ahh the good ol’ days. I want to faint just looking at your arm 🤕

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      I miss you too!!! Have you been using this time to experiment in the kitchen? I thought of you the other day when I tried a cauliflower Bolognaise which was amazing. Cauliflower instead of ground beef and a regular Bolognaise type sauce but seriously spiced up with chipotle and cumin.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Kris
        March 27, 2021

        Yummy! Sounds delicious. I do a lentil bolognese that mimics meat quite well. ❤️the Chipotle heat idea!

        We’re actually enjoying some sunshine in the Florida Keys right now, so mostly doing fruit smoothies, avocado toast and veggies on the grill with seared fresh tuna for the boys. Spoiled 😎

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 27, 2021

        MMMMhhhhMMMMM!!!! Has someone been doing vaccine tourism in Florida????!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kris
        March 27, 2021

        Lol. I am in no hurry to rejoin humanity

        Liked by 1 person

  5. jim-
    March 27, 2021

    The arm is about as colorful as the flowers. Ecchymosis blooms are a bitch, bitch.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Merilee
    March 27, 2021

    Great to hear your rants balanced by the glorious camelias🐾🐾How are the houndies? (Confession: I was thinking WP meant Washington Post until I finally twigged…)

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      Maya has been her usual difficult self. Morgan’s epilepsy was acting up, but we’ve got it under control again. It was an exhausting process; Much more for me than for him, of course. My anxiety went through the roof. Anyway, all is well now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Merilee
        March 27, 2021

        Glad to hear that canines are faring well.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. dpmonahan
    March 27, 2021

    The new editor isn’t for writers using keyboards, it is for illiterates with tablets posting selfies.

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Alien Resort
    March 27, 2021

    Ditto on extending social distancing.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. makagutu
    March 27, 2021

    I think the people at wp have nothing to do with their time so they keep fiddling with the app.
    I didn’t get the memo you stopped saying borderline evil things. That would be such a boring world!

    Liked by 3 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      What? I’VE BEEN VERY NICE FOR 4 YEARS NOW!!!

      Like

      • makagutu
        March 28, 2021

        I suggest the definition of what is being nice be changed. 😀

        Liked by 2 people

    • acflory
      March 28, 2021

      Actually he’s been pretty quiet for a while now. I think all that biting-of-tongue broke something. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Diana MacPherson
    March 27, 2021

    Oh my that arm looks dreadful. I once had a scary technician for a blood test that did that to me. I have giant blue/green veins no one can miss so blood out of the arm is pretty painless usually. However, this guy managed to beat the crap out of me. It’s like he found the dullest, thickest needle on earth & really put his back into it as her rammed it in there. He was a big guy too. I think he may have been some sort of vampire.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      That’s precisely my case. My skin is quite transparent, you can see the veins on much of my body. And the intern tried to blame me, asking if I was on medication or had a history of trouble having blood drawn. Fortunately the doctor saw I was getting exasperated and intervened and it took him seconds to get it right.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Diana MacPherson
        March 27, 2021

        You should have asked the intern if they had a history of brutalizing others then blaming the person the brutalize. 🤣

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 27, 2021

        I do believe that’s a well established pattern!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Susan
    March 27, 2021

    Good to hear from you, always love your updates – happiness and joy wishes

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Helen Devries
    March 27, 2021

    So when are you starting to traffic cocaine?
    Very glad the customs bods have seen sense…one hassle less in life is well worth having.
    As to WP and its block nonsense….words do not fail me, but ones fit for publication do. I have been under the weather for a while and would normally have been posting something or other when goaded by incompetence, corruption, etc….but I have started, then become infuriated by the lunacy of the block system and shut down the laptop. A bit much when you need to be on top form to post something on WP!
    You had more patience with the intern than I should have had…..it would have started with an enquiry as to the whereabouts of his white stick.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Merilee
      March 27, 2021

      In my early 20s I contracted something like mono which necessitated blood tests 3X a week for several weeks. The MWF nurse was like your intern – my arm, which has excellent veins, was all shades of black green and yellow, like yours. I thought to ask if I could come on TuThSa with a different nurse, and that turned out to make all the difference. I think the only time in my life I’ve ever fainted was off a high stool(!) with Nurse Ratchet #1.Never ever had any issues since.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Diana MacPherson
        March 27, 2021

        I think in these cases when they hurt us we should just scream loudly and prolongedly.

        Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 27, 2021

      We’re in the same boat. I started trying to write a post a number of times and simply gave up.
      I think they may be trying to transform WP into something more like Instagram – where young people post photographs with short texts beneath them.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Helen Devries
        March 28, 2021

        I suppose that is all they can manage with their limited vocabulary…..

        Liked by 2 people

  13. Barry
    March 28, 2021

    I’m honestly puzzled why so many people have issues with the block editor. I started using it while it was still in Beta. And no, I don’t use a laptop, tablet or smartphone. I use a Linux powered desktop and all WordPress composing is done inside a web browser (Vivaldi if you’re curious). I don’t use any WordPress app.

    The reason for the changes are partly to to do with making WordPress sites conform with the latest HTML standards and making it easier to manage changes in the future. The block editor also allows better separation of design and content. But I will agree that WordPress has done an extremely poor job of (a) explaining why the changes have been made and (b) providing guides on how to best make use of the block editor.

    I see lots of exasperated comments on how much people hate the Block editor, but can someone tell me specifically what you dislike so much. I simply type what I want to say, add images, headings, video clips and move blocks around to where I want, and it’s done. What’s so difficult?

    Liked by 3 people

    • acflory
      March 28, 2021

      I’ve used other block editors before and the latest thing I hate about the WP one is the new, ‘improved’ preview function. Have you tried it? Supposed to be a floating pane except it doesn’t float or move out of the way, so when I find a typo, I have to close the pane to go back to the edit screen to correct the typo.
      I am anal about getting my posts just right, but this improvement is making editing so hard I’m ready to give up.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Barry
        March 28, 2021

        That’s true of almost every CMS (content management system). Personally I don’t find this an issue. The preview pane is exactly that – a preview of how the page will look. I don’t have an issue dropping back into the editor to make any last minute changes. I do that all the time, frequently after I have published. Sure it would be convenient of one could edit from the preview pane, but there are very few CMS editors capable of doing so. I’ve been using the block editor for so long that I’ve forgotten how the old editor worked 🙂

        Liked by 3 people

      • acflory
        March 28, 2021

        Hi Barry. Sorry, I didn’t make myself clear. I don’t want to edit in the preview pane, I want to be able to have both the preview pane and the edit screen open in separate tabs the way they used to be. When proofing my posts I’d read in the preview TAB then just click across to the edit tab, make a correction and go back to the preview tab again. Now one is superimposed over the other. Oh, and I’ve been using the block editor for over a year now, and this is /new/.

        Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Yes, yes I can describe what I hate about it!!!

      When I work on anything, I like to lay out “the canvas” and all the materials in the same area where I can see them. The old format was like a sheet of paper with all of the available “tools and instruments” sitting immediately above it. This gives the user total control in the creation of a coherent, balanced final product – with a well planned beginning, middle and end. I can keep going if you like 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barry
        March 29, 2021

        I take back my previous comments. WordPress has dumped on me the most awful editor I’ve faced in a long time. This is not the block editor I’ve been using for the last year or more. Now it doesn’t even pretend to be a WYSIWYG editor. and where have categories gone?

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 30, 2021

        Told ya!

        Liked by 1 person

  14. acflory
    March 28, 2021

    So much to unpack in this post! First…I laughed till I cried over the customs. You’ll be dining out on that story for years to come, or is that ‘in’ years to come? Sorry, a bit cheesed off as vaccinations in Australia are ridiculously low. I know we’re in a better starting position than most other countries, but I don’t think we’ve even hit the 1/4 million mark. Ahem.

    I did wonder at how much you’d mellowed. Heaven help us all when the Trump years fade into an unpleasant memory. :p

    That dress/skirt I can live with but the shoes? Are they meant to be mocasins or something?

    I’m delighted that Mike has had his jab..but doesn’t he need a second one before he’s properly covered? Or did he receive the Johnson and Johnson single jab vaccine?

    There are many things in your house I covet, but none more than your camellias. Warrandyte kills camellias and azaleas. Haven’t tried rhododendrons but it would probably kill them as well.

    Why did you need some many nasty tests? And you’d better not get sick or I shall be most annoyed. :p

    WordPress block editor….-rolls eyes and pulls hair-
    I’ve just discovered how awful the new preview function is. Why in dog’s name are they constantly making it /worse/ instead of better? -sigh- That was a rhetorical. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Slap the word ALOHA on that skirt and send it to the gift shops in Waikiki 😀
      Mike had the Moderna vaccine, so he still needs the second one which is scheduled for 27/04. He gets some degree of protection before that though.
      Did you get any of the heavy rainfall which was in the news lately?
      Did you see Anonymole’s link on how to use the old editor?

      Liked by 1 person

      • acflory
        March 29, 2021

        Oh I’m glad Mike was given the Moderna. Apparently it has an almost perfect score in terms of effectiveness. And yes, there is some protection even now but tell him not to get too complacent. 😉
        We did get the tail end of the rain, but we’re so far south it was just a few days of steady, soaking rain. Good rain, actually.
        No on the link. I’m answering from the top down so out of sequence. I’ll go look now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • acflory
        March 29, 2021

        Just checked and I don’t have permission. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 30, 2021

        Did you adapt the link by putting in your blog name?

        Liked by 1 person

      • acflory
        March 31, 2021

        Um…no??? Not even sure what that means Pinky. 😦

        Like

      • acflory
        March 31, 2021

        Oh! sorry Pinky, I completely lost track of what originally prompted the comment. Yes, I do know how to use the Classic block. Still miss it too, but I noticed this morning that the preview ‘pane’ now appears in a ‘new tab’ again! I guess a lot of other people must have complained about the same thing. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Tish Farrell
    March 28, 2021

    Re wretched block editor, I use ‘Open Live Writer’ to write/add photos off-line and then send the post automatically to my blog. The programme downloads any customisation of your blog so apart from any blog header, the page you work on looks much like your live blog page. You can publish to your blog directly from the off-line draft. Or publish in draft form and then edit on-line.

    This latter is now more fiddly that it was. After clicking on ‘my site’ the black side-bar menu comes up. Click on ‘posts’. When this opens select ‘drafts’ from page-top bar menu. Next click on the ‘dot-dot-dot’ toggle thingy on the far right of the page and select ‘edit’. You can then do any editing under the left-hand ‘classic’ block tab.

    https://openlivewriter.com/

    P.S. So very glad you’re not dying. Tx

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Thanks so much! I’ll try openlivewriter. And yes, not dying was a plus. My digestive system is going on intermittent strikes where it refuses to work – so the doctor ordered all sorts of tests and now we know everything it isn’t; but we still don’t know what’s causing it. Nothing like a mystery ailment to complete the pandemic mood 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • Tish Farrell
        March 29, 2021

        Well they do say the gut is the second brain, so have you been more stressed than usual? (rhetorical question). Hope you get it sorted soon, Edouard.

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 30, 2021

        Thanks, Tish. Now that I know it’s nothing life-threatening, I decided I’ll wait to get vaccinated before investigating further 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  16. clubschadenfreude
    March 28, 2021

    love the camellias. I have some big buds on mine, but they’ve been there since last fall so I don’t know of they’ll open or not.

    I currently work as an admin assistant in a hospital lab. I ride herd over a bevy of phlebotomists. I used to give blood all of the time, so got used to being stuck and allowed their new people to stick me. can’t donate any more since I had one positive rest for Hep C, but it was likely a false positive.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Have you been working through this whole Covid period? Was it frightening?

      Like

      • clubschadenfreude
        March 29, 2021

        Not the whole time. I got this job the end of January.

        I’m not interacting with patients much at all. And all samples that the lab has been running for covid are handled very well. Occasionally I hear a call for “code blue” (a patient in cardiac arrest) in what I know is the floor for covid, so that does make one realize just how close it is.

        Other than that, I’m pretty sanguine about it. I got the Moderna vaccine. The first shot was fine, the second made me feel like I had the flu for about 48 hours.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Diana MacPherson
        March 29, 2021

        I work in a hospital so got used to hearing them announce codes. The one that always surprised me, because it’s a children’s hospital, is the code for a violent person. Once it was announced near where I work and I said I wanted to go down there just as everything calmed down then start something with the person and get the whole thing going again. Clearly, I’m not the person you need around to de-escalate, be mature, not crack inappropriate jokes.

        Liked by 2 people

      • clubschadenfreude
        March 30, 2021

        heh. I occasionally hear “disturbance” calls over the system. Mostly we hear stroke alerts for the ER. Not sure why we hear them in the lab.

        I’m notorious for being facetious 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 30, 2021

        Interesting because I’m occasionally a disturbance myself 😀

        Like

      • clubschadenfreude
        March 31, 2021

        oh I can imagine 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  17. foolsmusings
    March 28, 2021

    Yay for Mike and you. My boyfriend just got his yesterday as he works in a lab that does clinical trials. If you want I’ll get him to take your blood next time. He takes blood dozens of times a day so he might be better than your intern 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Is he taking your blood dozens of times a day? That sounds like he could be trying to kill you 😀

      Like

  18. Anonymole
    March 28, 2021

    Save this link: https://justmerveilleux.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php?classic-editor

    Camellias tend to rot and rust away so quickly. They’re ugly floral confetti, in my opinion. Here’s a monster ready to wither: https://photos.app.goo.gl/a3XBDMwwbqVuLpWw5
    We’ve got neighborhoods here that focus on rhododendrons and they are magnificent in their display. https://photos.app.goo.gl/JRpijyFYaJLqUjiJ6 And this one which is more of an azalea flourish: https://photos.app.goo.gl/4GGrCSygQNfMm1tC8

    Might I suggest ancient Roman artifacts. All those “Mother Mary, may I” themes, I’d prolly get creeped out being continuously & simultaneously pitied and condemned.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Thank you, thank you & thank you!!! The link works and I’m thrilled 😀
      The camellias were here when we bought the house and they line one of the walls. Fortunately the dead flowers fall inconspicuously under the trees and we don’t really see them as there are large hydrangeas hiding that area. Some of them started flowering in the winter, which makes for a welcomed bit of colour. Azaleas and rhododendrons start later, but we do have them too.
      The great thing about religious art is there’s always a market. Most other antiques are at the mercy of fashion, but that category seems to keep going no matter what. Also, I think being an atheist makes me a particularly clear minded dealer as I’m not influenced by an emotional connection. I do love Roman artefacts though 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  19. agrudzinsky
    March 28, 2021

    Are you getting tired of the “cancel culture” too?

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Depends. In my childhood I wanted to be a dictator, partly for the costumes (remember Haile Selassie?), but also for the right to impose my will unilaterally 😀

      Liked by 3 people

      • agrudzinsky
        March 28, 2021

        I also get a feeling that most of the “social justice” movements these days have the same motive – impose their will unilaterally. Which is ironic, because many of them, like the anarchists, declare that their goal is to “fight systemic oppression” and get rid of the government and corporate control over them.

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 28, 2021

        I think to a large degree Plato’s theory on rule by “the best” is probably something we should try to incorporate into political systems. Democracy without some sorting system to exclude con-artists makes for an enormous waste of time, energy and even life.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Diana MacPherson
        March 28, 2021

        Don’t forget the missile parades. Missile parades are the phallic icing on the dictator cake.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Merilee
        March 28, 2021

        Old Haile’s medals looked awfully heavy.

        Liked by 1 person

  20. john zande
    March 28, 2021

    Had we stopped saying offensive things?

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Pink Agendist
      March 28, 2021

      Has absolutely no one noticed how nice I’ve been since Trump was first elected?

      Liked by 1 person

      • midihideaways
        March 29, 2021

        I did miss some of the biting sarcasm these past years, but I like your posts anyhow, nice or not!!
        That arm looks very painful and I hope it’ll get better very soon!
        As for the block editor, I really don’t like it much, but I know that I’ll have to get used to it, it’s not going away, just like windows 10 or some of the other stuff that gets improved! Had to update my OS to Big Sur and that’s been painful too. I guess we just don’t like change for change’s sake, do we??

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Pink Agendist
        March 30, 2021

        The biting sarcasm is on its way back – the floodgates will open 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • midihideaways
        April 1, 2021

        😀

        Like

  21. Bela Johnson
    April 12, 2021

    I FUCKING HATE THAT EDITOR. !!!

    and say whatever you want about Trump. Who cares? Anybody with a brain and or a heart always knew the man was completely unsuitable for anything except a prison suit.

    And that is all. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      April 12, 2021

      How’s your new world treating you? Has adapting been easy?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bela Johnson
        April 12, 2021

        Adapting has been far more difficult than I thought it would be. I am used to being around large bodies of water. And though we have a river here, and the acequia on our property, it’s strange to be missing the ocean and/or the lake. But the gifts we have been given demonstrate the rightness of our being here and now. No idea what the future will bring.

        Hope you are doing well. These are strange, strange times. Take care!

        Liked by 1 person

  22. angryricky
    June 2, 2021

    I’m not fond of the editor either, though I love your flowers.
    WP is making their interface friendlier for businesses than for personal blogs (I guess they have a better income stream there), and the new editor is similar to the one we use for LibGuides, library-created websites for improving access to information, sort of like the pamphlets libraries used to provide for people researching specific subjects. I don’t know why turning wordpress into a library is a desirable thing, especially since libraries are not known for improving revenue streams. I am glad that we still have a platform on which to interact, but I suppose we could figure something out without wordpress.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2021 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .