Just Merveilleux?

Life at № 42

1967 to 2017 = 50 years

Found this the other day. Amusing or what? 50 years ago this Agendist’s grandfather was presenting to the world the first long term injectable contraceptive. I’m not entirely sure why I was born considering these advances in medicine. He’s smarter (he thinks), I’m better looking and more stylish (obviously.) Evolution’s mysterious ways 😀

19 comments on “1967 to 2017 = 50 years

  1. foolsmusings
    July 30, 2017

    I was one year old then. Just beat it :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Helen Devries
    July 30, 2017

    And a question never satisfactorally answered…Como funciona una computadora….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Helen Devries
    July 30, 2017

    As is how, when I type satisfactorily it comes out as above….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Medical history!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. makagutu
    July 31, 2017

    Said grandfather must be pleased with what you have become.
    Intelligent. Smart and well sarcastic

    Liked by 3 people

  6. karenjane
    July 31, 2017

    Does he still work? I googled him, & his work is fascinating. Especially regarding menstrual supression. You should feel proud to be related (regardless of whatever else happened in your family…I know its somewhat complicated).

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      July 31, 2017

      I think so, but I don’t really know. He’s close to 90. We were fundamentally incompatible, with completely different ideas of what life is about, so a relationship was never really possible.

      Like

      • acflory
        July 31, 2017

        Yet I suspect you inherited his brains, even if you use them in completely different ways. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Pink Agendist
        July 31, 2017

        Yes, I use mine to figure out how long I can stay in bed every day 😀

        Like

      • acflory
        July 31, 2017

        Sheer genius. :p

        Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      July 31, 2017

      I just checked and he was recently in The Guardian’s Vagina Dispatches, so yes, still working.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. appletonavenue
    July 31, 2017

    Very cool. I see how you come by your intelligence and good looks. You are right though, you are better looking than your dad. 🙂

    Like

  8. Bela Johnson
    August 1, 2017

    Why in god’s name is it always women who are the lab rats? Glad you’re nothing like him, then. And I get it – I have little in common with the rest of my family, though my dad did give me the opportunity to bond with nature in a way my mother never did. Sigh. Familias!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t know what it is like to have broken family relationships. Fights? Oh yes plenty of them over the years, but always healing, never permanent. I can’t imagine what that must be like to be estranged from your family, or parts of your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Pink Agendist
      August 18, 2017

      In my case it was liberating. I felt completely oppressed for my first 20 years – so escaping that and getting to “become” myself was incredibly important.

      Like

  10. Pingback: Judge Groody Slimedem of The Skies | Esme's Cloud

  11. Derek Perry
    September 24, 2017

    I live in England. Fifty years ago I was 19 and leaving home to go to university in London. You can follow my blog – a ‘diary’ from fifty years ago in real time. https://50yearsago.today/2017/07/26/first-blog-post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2017 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
