Just Merveilleux?

Life at № 42

An Agendist’s (Mostly) Private Thoughts

It’s usually a bad idea to put people on a pedestal; Unless they’re blind or in a wheelchair, in which case it might be funny.

Three of my grandparents are still alive- so there’s no inheritance in sight. #annoying.

But is outliving people winning or losing?

If a guest tells you they have a food allergy, can you put the allergen in their food just to make sure they’re telling the truth?

The secret ingredient in my vegetarian dishes is usually bacon or ham stock; but don’t tell my vegetarian friends, or Jewish friends, or Muslim friends. Just kidding! I don’t have friends.

Zero sum game isn’t a general rule, but it is applicable in all cases where resources are limited.

Isn’t it terrible how labels follow people? You push just one little baby girl into the deep end of the pool when you’re 5 years old and for the rest of your life people say you tried to murder the maid’s daughter. Such drama; I was just testing if it was true that all babies could really swim. Anyway, it survived. And my father spent the rest of his life taking credit for “jumping in the pool while still wearing a suit”. Who really deserves the credit for the fabrication of his glory?

Science requires testing!

 

 

 

 

27 comments on “An Agendist’s (Mostly) Private Thoughts

  1. john zande
    June 4, 2017

    Damien. Omen. Damien. Omen. Damien. Omen. Damien. Omen.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Steve Ruis
    June 5, 2017

    Enquiring minds want to know! (Motto of a disreputable tabloid newspaper in the US.) This is why parenting is so hard. Thoughts that “occur” to a child that are perfectly logical may not appear that way to the adults in the vicinity.

    And who the Hell said that “all babies could really swim?” When they drown, they do float for a bit, but otherwise not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. foolsmusings
    June 5, 2017

    You can be forgiven this time, but try not to make a habit of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s okay to remember this, but I am going to think about it less and less.
    It’s okay to remember this, but I am going to think about it less and less.
    It’s okay to remember this, but I am going to think about it less and less.

    Try it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. boyslikeme
    June 5, 2017

    We’re so bloody underappreciated!

    I mean – how exactly was my little brother to develop his flying skills if no one but me was willing to shove him out the window?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. acflory
    June 5, 2017

    -grin- I can’t work out if you’re having a good day or a bad day. Hugs for whichever one is appropriate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Clare Flourish
    June 5, 2017

    My friend let his daughter sink in the bath. “Her eyes closed,” he said. “She looked so peaceful”!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hariod Brawn
    June 5, 2017

    Oh, come on, we’ve all tried to murder a sibling . . .
    . . . haven’t we?

    Liked by 4 people

    • john zande
      June 5, 2017

      Once. Just once, but she had tried to kill me as a baby with pillows and encyclopedias… so it really was justified.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Hariod Brawn
        June 6, 2017

        I tried to kill my sister, twice. Once with one of those really heavy, old school Coca-Cola bottles (over the head job), then with a 9-inch brick balanced atop a garden gate. But you know, that was long, long ago, back when we were in our forties.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Linn
      June 6, 2017

      Maybe my family is just strange, but the kids here try to “kill” each other with kindness instead. My brother’s kids and my cousin’s kids are constantly hugging and kissing. My nephew is kissing his brother so often that they have to tell him to stop.
      And my eldest cousin’s girl has developed the same method of annoying someone that I did: Be all nice and smiling, but never let your siblings escape your presence. Ever. 🙂

      It’s wonderful to have close siblings when you finally grow up however.
      If something ever happens, I know I have someone to rely on.

      Like

      • Linn
        June 6, 2017

        Ehm. I hope it was obvious that I was talking about a “general” you in the sentence about growing up. Reading it again, it suddenly sounded like an insult. :-*
        Replace: “when you finally grow up” with “when we finally grow up.”

        Like

      • 😀 LOL I didn’t think you were telling me to grow up 😀

        Like

  9. Bela Johnson
    June 7, 2017

    Ahhh … yes, we share a morbid sense of humor. Love that last line 😉 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Esme upon the Cloud
    September 12, 2017

    You are incredibly entertaining at times Mr Pink.

    – Esme Cloud laughing as she hears him complain that she hasn’t said ‘constantly’ in that sentence

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2017 by in thinking aloud and tagged , , .
