Just Merveilleux

Life at № 42

Thinking aloud

26004

I was awake until very late last night looking at old pictures. In particular pictures where the Bacchus painting appears.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

dining002

A collector contacted me to make an offer. We haven’t hung it here. Mostly because we haven’t settled on a room for it. In Spain it moved around over the years. First in the entrance hall, then in the dining room and finally in the larger living room. I can’t remember exactly how old I was when I bought it, but as it appears in a picture with a rectangular dining table, that places it in the first half of my 20’s. Time flies. Mike thinks we should sell as it’s a very good offer. I’m not sure how I feel.

25 comments on “Thinking aloud

  1. Hariod Brawn
    February 16, 2017

    I just read that prices were currently depressed — is that not so?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kjennings952
    February 16, 2017

    It’s funny but I am having a similar issue in reverse–purchasing a piece for a feature wall in our living room. It’s the one place in our small home for a statement. I have considered several but haven’t “pulled the trigger” because I invariably think ahead to what will happen when I want to redecorate? Art is so personal that parting with it seems almost unfathomable to me. Yet I am not buying investment quality pieces 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. kjennings952
    February 16, 2017

    Thanks for the tip!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. karenjane
    February 16, 2017

    We usually get stuff direct from artists or a gallery….but I’ve fallen in love with lots of stuff on Artfinder.com, which I hadn’t heard of before. I have to keep repeating to myself ‘No Wall Space…’ (which is true, but doesn’t usually stop us buying something.

    Like

  5. metan
    February 21, 2017

    Have you not settled on a room for it because you don’t really want to hang it, or is it that you really like it and want it in the best place? That will probably tell you if you would regret selling it. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s leaving Thursday and I’ve got my heart in my hands!

      Liked by 1 person

      • metan
        February 21, 2017

        Will you be sinking to your knees on the doorstep, outstretched hand dramatically reaching for it as it leaves?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m trying to emotionally prepare myself. The rational side of me knows it’s a good thing both for the painting, because it gets to be restored by one the best people in the field and then also for number 42 because all the proceeds go to finishing the work on the house.

        Like

      • metan
        February 21, 2017

        Easier when there isn’t a large empty space on a wall glaring accusingly at you whenever you pass. 😀

        Knowing something you value is going to someone who will value it equally always lessens the blow. And, if I know you, I’m sure the money earmarked for the house won’t go entirely towards practicalities…

        Liked by 1 person

      • You guessed it 😀 It’s antiques market time this afternoon, in fact! And I haven’t even received payment yet 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • metan
        February 21, 2017

        Uh oh, I can almost hear your wallet crying from here…

        Liked by 1 person

  6. acflory
    February 21, 2017

    Oh Metan, you really shouldn’t encourage him! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2017 by in thinking aloud.
