Just Merveilleux?

Life at № 42

Are you ever afraid? The weight of decision making.

propfr

Les Echos just published an article a few days ago on the evolution of property prices in France from the crisis to now. Paris (obviously) tops the list as the most expensive m2. The Limousin is at the bottom and everyone else is somewhere in the middle. Our region is still the best value in the south with an average house price of €216,000. New builds are cheaper. I imagine a lot of that has to do with location. Old country, old cities- all the best areas were already built up by the end of the 19th century. New builds here tend to be in the peripheries. 2015 is the first year since the crisis where there’s been a significant rise in the provinces.

Keeping up with this sort of news has become sort of an obsession. I often ask myself what in the world am I doing? I also wonder how in the world does everyone else know what they’re doing? Do they? What’s the trick? What do you invest in? How much? When? Where? Educated guesses, really. If financial advisors really knew what they were doing, (some) people wouldn’t lose their entire life savings when there’s a financial crisis. Sometimes it keeps me up at night. Wondering, second guessing.

We’ve kept our investments as straightforward and safe as possible. I suppose I’m traumatised. No safe spaces or trigger warnings to help anyone navigate the financial markets. I don’t want to ever be in a situation where we have no liquidity again. Think Scarlett holding the carrot.

See original image

Okay, maybe this a slight exaggeration of my plight.

In other news I’m still semi-struggling with furniture for number 42. I got an attractive pair of console tables for the green salon. Green and parcel-gilt. The gilding needs some slight touching up which I’ll do when I can find the time.

console2

Now I’ve got to get back to work. A new bathroom mirror and some light fixtures are needed in one of the apartments in building I. My white male privilege means I also get to work on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. Isn’t it fantastic?!?

12 comments on “Are you ever afraid? The weight of decision making.

  1. Hariod Brawn
    February 27, 2016

    Fear not Scarlet, for I suspect that when the (next) crunch comes your carrot shall still be gilded my dear. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      February 27, 2016

      You never know, that’s the problem! I am trying not to repeat the mistakes of the past, but there are always risks 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tildeb
    February 27, 2016

    Don’t you just love that privilege?

    Liked by 3 people

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      February 27, 2016

      It’s just AMAZING! As society has no expectations at all of men, we can just glide through life as if walking on water 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Cara
    February 27, 2016

    Financial advisors, for the most part, know what they’re doing. People “lose everything they have” because of Bernie Madoff and others like him, charming con artists who reinvent the Ponzi scheme every so often because they decide it’s easier to deceive others think to do an honest day’s work.

    What to invest in…well, I don’t forsee Apple going out of business, or Facebook. My idiot cousin’s salumeria (that’s a fancy Italian word for pork store), now THAT can go out of business.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      February 27, 2016

      HA! You’re sounding a little bit like a financial advisor 😀

      Like

      • Cara
        February 27, 2016

        My youngest sister was the finance major (I have a Master’s in British Literature). I actually invested a large chunk of my money in handbags and shoes.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Helen Devries
    February 27, 2016

    Difficult to know what to do when the markets are rigged and doped…..but two sure rules apply.
    Treat a financial advisor as you would a vampire and never do anything suggested by Barclays Bank.

    Oh, and buy a large mattress.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. acflory
    February 28, 2016

    -cough- Yes, weekend work seems to be a privilege for white females as well. :p As for the property values, do you really want the area to suddenly leap into prominence? I mean, sure, the property values would rise, but then you’d also lose the very thing that attracted you to the area in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      February 28, 2016

      It’s an inevitable cycle. Europe is small and heavily populated.
      If you consider the southern coast of Spain, for example, it all started with Malaga and Torremolinos as peaceful rustic vacation spots. That filled up so people started moving west to places further from the airport. Now it’s built up all the way to Sotogrande at the opposite end of the coast. So I don’t get much say in the matter 🙂

      In the past few months we met four (foreign) couples who had also just moved here. That means the process is already beginning. Tons of people in Europe are searching for a temperate climate and good value properties. Fortunately we chose this house with that in mind. The house itself is well protected from the street and nothing new is going to be built around it that could ruin our enjoyment of it. I just hope the change is gradual here. In Spain it all went very fast.

      Liked by 1 person

      • acflory
        February 28, 2016

        It’s been a long time since I was in France, but my memory of the place and people is all about controlled change. I can’t see them rushing it just to make a profit. At least I hope not.

        As for you and Mike, what’s happening just shows you have the pulse of the marketplace. 🙂

        Like

  6. Esme upon the Cloud
    March 1, 2016

    The room looks gorgeous, it’s right up my street and sat in the parlour in fact. I particularly like the boots, suddenly, it looks like a home *smiles*.

    – esme upon the Cloud

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2016 by in life and tagged , , .
