Just Merveilleux?

Life at № 42

Superb Design: Sabine Medina

sabport001

Sabine Medina, the interior designer, has just updated her portfolio and it’s absolutely stunning. You may not know her name because she’s the ultimate in discretion, but she’s responsible for some of the most glamorous spaces in Europe, including the uber-exclusive Valderrama Golf Club which belonged to the Ortiz-Patiño’s. Her work has been featured in most, if not all, major EU design magazines.

sabport005

We collaborated for many years and were actual business partners, until my departure from Spain made the continuation of our partnership inviable. In any event I’m pleased to see projects we worked on together are still part of her showcase.

Highlights:

 

                                                                                    

sabport003

sabport004

She’s an absolute genius working with colours, fabrics and textures- but what I think really sets her apart from most designers is she’s not just concerned with how something will photograph, but also how it’ll work in real, everyday life.

She’s promised she’s coming to spend a week or two with us in the next couple of months- which is fabulous because there’s still so much to do, I think I’ll be leaving the dining room and the double guest suite in her hands.

It’ll also be great because we can reenact our many drunken nights on the terraces of Villa l’Africaine.

sabinesoto2

sabport007

11 comments on “Superb Design: Sabine Medina

  1. Cara
    November 29, 2015

    That bathroom is stunning, I’d love to have a bathroom like that in my house. My bathroom is tiny (this is brooklyn, ny, sprawling spaces cost money), and it’s done in that art deco look that was popular in the 1930s…it probably looked fabulous when it was new, & Zelda Fitzgerald probably had a bathroom like it. But it has seen better days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      November 29, 2015

      Do you know anyone who can plaster? If so, and they’re willing to put in a weekend of work for you, this is the product that creates that effect on the walls: http://store.stuccoitalianoinc.com/products/4.5KG-Tadelakt-Moroccan-Lime-Plaster.html

      Like

      • Cara
        November 29, 2015

        I know someone who can plaster, or rip out the old, rotting tiles (along with the rust-stained tub). But while my mother lives, she technically owns the house (even though she lives at the other place in the Hamptons), and this is the house where she grew up…the bathroom with the crumbling tiles is the bathroom her father (my grandfather) put in (he was a cabinet maker in Italy, a craftsman). My mother thinks everything he put in/made in this house is a holy artifact and I don’t give a holy shit. But I shouldn’t complain about the bathroom when I live rent free, have use of the backyard, and all I have to do for that is collect the rent from the tenant.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s funny that your first comment is about the bathroom walls, I was going to ask about that 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mr. Merveilleux
        November 29, 2015

        It’s a fantastic finish, and now there’s even a base material that can be applied to tiles making the refurb process much quicker.

        Like

  2. Here is what I think is the best patio furniture. I have had this furniture for over 20 years and the fabric has not faded at ALL even though it has always been kept on a covered porch, and the porch is all windows, or outside sitting only under a roof and open on all sides. This fabric does.not.fade. It’s remarkable really.

    I recently had to re-string under the cushions because that was sagging, and I repainted, it looks like brand new again and I hope for another 20 years out of it. The cushions are still great all these years later.

    I’m not really a fan of stripes, however I have practically this same model, they changed it up a tad added a bit more rattan weaving on the legs, and it is striped, even though I’m not a fan of stripes I still love this furniture. It’s pretty expensive though.

    http://www.laneventure.com/Furniture/Outdoor-Furniture/cr700007-Four-Seasons.aspx

    I notice they have a club size which is extra deep seating, if I was buying again that is what I would get. If you are laying around outside you really want comfort. Actually I always want comfort inside or out, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      November 29, 2015

      Gorgeous! I think the stripes actually work with that sort of style. Is Lane Venture part of Lane Furniture?

      Like

      • Yes. I believe a big part of their business is the lounge furniture they sell to Hotels & Resorts for their Private Cabanas. They are only really sold in high end furniture stores, or high end patio furniture stores. Can you imagine over 20 years exposed indirectly to the sun, and often times directly, and no fading. My deep green stripes are still deep green. I know they sell the fabric by the yard through their dealers. The stuffing they use is pretty unique, it really lets water flow through it and it dries quickly. The cushions do not tamp down, they stay fluffy. Well of course a little bit after over 20 years, the sofa cushions are little bit tamped down, but not much. For over 10 years my set will get rained on a little bit on one side if it is a driving rain.

        Like

  3. acflory
    November 29, 2015

    Sumptuous. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      November 29, 2015

      More so in person 🙂 All her seating is made by hand by an old fashioned upholsterer named Carlos: amazing!

      Like

      • acflory
        November 30, 2015

        Stop! You’ll make me drool. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2015 by in design, Mazamet and tagged , , , , , .
