Just Merveilleux?

Life at № 42

My gardener is broken

olivier

The gardener, Olivier, plays rugby. He’s apparently quite good at it- except he’s in hospital now, only to be released next Wednesday. That’s actually him in the picture under the arrow. Until yesterday he had a perfectly formed compact nose, not unlike my own. Goodness knows what it will look like post-breakages. It wasn’t just the nose if he’s confined to hospital for a week but his girlfriend didn’t want to give out any more details of the injuries.

I just don’t understand why anyone would do anything to endanger their face. I suppose it doesn’t matter too much for ugly people, but for non-ugly people it’s sort of a guarantee of continued preferential treatment in saecula saeculorum. I know mine has gone a very long way to getting me what I wanted when I wanted it. I wouldn’t dream of risking that.

18 comments on “My gardener is broken

  1. clubschadenfreude
    September 24, 2015

    my brother broke his nose in basic training (marines). We both have, ah, generous noses with a lot of bone in them and he had quite a time. He is quite good looking (a 6′ tall Tom Cruise) me not so much. I really don’t understand the desire to play sports that cause harm. I’m quite happy having no concussions, broken bits, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      September 24, 2015

      Indeed. The only time I’d engage in contact sports would be if I were the only person allowed to have a weapon. In that case, it might even be fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • roughseasinthemed
        September 27, 2015

        Oh I don’t know. Martial arts sans weapons can be exciting. I was chatting (in French, back when I could string a sentence together) to a Moroccan in Sydney at a party, and the next thing I knew, Partner was kicking seven shades of whatever out of Karim. He (partner) was actually floored by a rugby tackle. Most annoyed that someone stopped his fight too!

        Like

  2. john zande
    September 25, 2015

    Bite your tongue. It’s the game played in heaven. Are you not watching the world cup??

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Helen Devries
    September 25, 2015

    Having always been a plain Jane I am all too aware of the value others place on a pretty face….oh, the chances missed!

    A week is quite a time for a rugby player to be in hospital…but then, French hospitals bleed the system by their daily charges borne by the various Caisses Santes so I expect he will be back to nuke your lawn in pretty short order.

    Like

  4. docatheist
    September 25, 2015

    I must tell you how I appreciate your realistic appreciation of the facts. I didn’t want to be appreciated for my looks (read: on the one hand, I was told, early on, that I was ugly, and on the other hand, I didn’t want to risk getting raped, though it happened twice, anyway). I made myself into a plain Jane, and now that age is showing, I wonder what opportunities were missed — good and bad.

    Like

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      September 25, 2015

      I enjoy sanding down human behaviour to to see what lies beneath 🙂
      We’ve spent most of our existence as a species covering-up, rationalizing and romanticizing the human animal; peel back a few layers and all our primate-ness is revealed.
      Attractive people are treated better than those who aren’t. Add well dressed to that and an individual can count on preferential treatment. Not to mention of course, skin colour, clarity of speech/accent, the appearance of wealth and so forth.

      Like

  5. karenjane369
    September 25, 2015

    Poor Olivier….. I do not understand the attraction of doing something where the probability of any injury, especially to the face, is so high (I excuse jockey’s, as they are all horse mad like myself ). Rugby is possibly exciting to watch if you understand what is happening – although I seem incapable of comprehending any of the rules, & many people, including ardent Welsh Rugby Fanatics have tried to explain it to me – & I close my eyes if it gets rough. As a result I’ve missed most of the matches I watch on TV.

    I hope he recovers quickly & can soon be back doing a sensible job like gardening.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      September 25, 2015

      It’s an incredibly rough sport. People get seriously injured often. When I say seriously I mean ‘for life.’ There are already so many risks in everyday living, I think it’s absurd to add to it. No jumping out of airplanes or climbing Everest for me 🙂

      Like

  6. theoccasionalman
    October 5, 2015

    A musician I used to know said the same thing about hands. But in order to be useful, hands sometimes have to place themselves in danger. Faces, less so.

    You got a French rugby player to work in your garden and didn’t tell me? I’m hurt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. Merveilleux
      October 5, 2015

      He’s not a professional player yet; I was going to wait until he became one so I could then torture you with the information 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2015 by in life, Mazamet and tagged , , , , .
